iPhone 4 Snaps Candids

Every single electronic device has it’s own glitch, or series of them. However, the new iPhone 4 seems to be a leading the rest in creepiness with it’s new problem. According to a Huffington Post article, the iPhone 4 Facetime app allegedly takes secret photos of users while they are unaware.

The complaints, which have been posted to an Apple Support Forum, all seem to agree with the fact that users “have seen photos taken with the iPhone 4’s front facing camera–but which they themselves did not take–freeze on the phone’s screen during FaceTime calls.” One man stated “I have a dashboard mount for my phone. I had left the phone in the car when I ran in to get my sandwich. This was at a strip mall that I had never visited before and never connected to any WiFi. I parked in the middle of the lot, about 75ft from the doors to Subway. Ran in, got my food, hopped back in the car. I hit the button to see if anyone called me (no one did) and drove off. After I got in to where I was working and ate my sandwich, I tried to use FaceTime and saw a frozen image of me in the car from 20-30 minutes prior!”

Apple is not sure what may be causing the problem or how to fix it, but the company told one client to restore the factory settings on the smart phone (which apparently didn’t solve the problem), and to then return the phone for a new one. Although I love my MacBook pro, I’m happy I don’t have a creepin’ iPhone 4! Have any of you had these problems?

4 thoughts on “iPhone 4 Snaps Candids

  1. Whoa! This blog just scared me! I have the Iphone 4 and I love it! I think it is crazy that the Facetime App would do that! I haven’t heard any of those complaints from my friends, and Still plan to use the App, I deff will do research on this! Ur blog kept my focus the whole time, you have a great writing style!

  2. Honestly, a phone taking pictures of someone is the least that could happen. As a techie, I can see all of the things that can be done with phones to gather data about a the user. I recently read an article on Pandora… It’s just music, right? Wrong! The article stated that Pandora collects enough information through GPS locations and other non-private data that they can identify the user, where they work, where they live, where they usually shop, and so forth. Pandora could then sell this information to ad companies to give you specialized ads, but then again, what if there was a security breach?

  3. Pingback: Commenting Away! « Public Relations Apps

Leave a Reply

