Spelling Makes all the Difference

Recently, I read a short article on Ragan’s PR Daily by staff writer Lindsay Goldwert about the spelling error emblazoned across a tunic made by the clothing company Wet Seal. The huge silver lettering on the shirt says “If Your Single, So Am I.” The spelling of the word your, which should have been the contraction/combination of you and are– you’re, was supposedly intentional. But why any company would want to broadcast it’s lack of spelling skills blows my mind; I wouldn’t want to wear a shirt that has such a thoughtless error in giant letters across my chest. That would pretty much make me look ignorant. Therefore, I decided to compile a short list of ways to avoid grammatical errors on blogs so that you will have more readers interested in the things that you post.

  1. Write your post in a separate document such as Microsoft Word or Mac Pages before you post it directly into the ‘add new post’ composing section. This will automatically spellcheck your post and allow for fewer errors.
  2. Read and re-read your post OUT-LOUD! So many people just read through their writing once (in their head) and think that they have no errors. Start reading your posts out-loud and you’ll see how many more errors you catch.
  3. Last, but not least, ask someone to quickly read over your posts for you before you publish them. I’m sure that you know someone who can glance over your writing–a parent, friend, roommate, et cetera. And you’ll be surprised when they point out errors that you failed to see. This is because you know what you want to say in your head since you’re the author, so you’ll often fill in words when they really aren’t there!

Hope these tips will help you to spell better and look, well, smarter! -Emily

oh and here’s a few funny errors…

this is wrong in many ways

anyone up for some breakfast?

guess they're doing this over...

are you really that awEsome?

11 thoughts on “Spelling Makes all the Difference

  1. I love this, because I could not agree more. Ever since Paris Hilton ventured out in a shirt that read “Thats Hot, Your Not,” it seems that no one can properly nail that contraction. Grammar seems to be a lost art, and it is only embarrassing the companies.
    Another funny thing is the constant misuse of quotation marks. A recent article in Reader’s Digest illustrated how ads and billboards are starting to look like this:
    fresh “eggs”
    hot “bread”
    tickets “required”
    These questionable quotations definitely do not make me feel confident about the products or the companies!
    Thank you for sharing this; I will definitely make sure to carefully review my posts so I do not make similar mistakes.

  2. I loved your post! People these days rarely use proper grammar in everyday conversation, but to make a shirt with such an obvious error is hilarious! This post reminds me of a sign I saw one time when I was in Tennessee. The sign was on the side of a store and it said “No Parking Aloud,” instead of “No Parking Allowed.” =]

  3. Emily Bos,

    I like your blog about spelling. I agree this is a huge factor and can really bring down a company. This really does make the company look really ignorant. Especially if you are looking at a company it can change your mind just because of spelling. The worst part is the company could actually be a legate company, but it was just a small mistake but turned into something a lot bigger. I like how you made suggestions on your blog to avoid common errors. I think this can really be helpful to a lot of people. Another thing I liked was the pictures you posted. I think this really makes your blog stand out and adds humor to it. It draws the attention to a lot of people too. I enjoyed reading your blog.

    Thanks,
    Sandra Theoret

  4. I have to say I agree with your post. I don’t understand the intent of misusing particular words. Perhaps Wet Seal is trying to target a particular group of buyers (the ones who promote individuality through spelling errors). Or maybe the company doesn’t have the funds to add the extra apostrophe and e. Whatever the reasoning, I suppose the sun still rises. Great tips by the way! I laughed out loud at the tattoo photo.

  5. I read that article as well. I was blown away at the lack of spell check on their part. It is really scary knowing the companies that are making our clothes can’t spell!! Unless it was intentional, hopefully it wasn’t. It takes an extra 3 seconds to check in Word. Maybe they will learn from this to check their spelling a few times over.

    Great pictures!

  6. BAHAA!! I thought this was so funny! I have to admit I am awful at spelling so I can understand the embarrassment these people probably felt. When I saw the guy with the tattoo all I could think was, thank the Lord that did not happen to me. After reading the article I wrote my comment in Word first so I did not make that same mistakes as the people in the article. I think whoever reads this article will hopefully realize the importance of spell check.

  7. I could not have said it better myself. Your blog on this issue is most definitely relevant to our society’s lack of spelling and grammar habits. Through each generation our writing skills just keep getting worse and our word choice has dumb down. I will take your advice and write my blogs in Word before I submit them into my posts. I loved your pictures, too funny!

  8. Emily I love your article, because it is so true. I think our generation more than most has become sloppy, in spelling and grammar. It is so easy to have the text and facebook language care over into more important things. I had not heard about Wet Seal but I totally agree with you, why would anyone want to wear a t-shirt that had a spelling error on it. Cool Article!

  9. Pingback: PR Comments | Public Relations Today

  10. Pingback: Talking about People’s Blogs « Jessica Leigh

  11. This post is AMAZING. The pictures were awesome. Spelling is so important, not only with getting things tattooed on your body, but also with everyday life. It can make or break a sentence or a word. If you can’t spell, then you just sound ignorant. Spelling is also very important especially if you’re going into the PR/Journalism firm.

Leave a Reply

